Luis Binks named Defensive Player of the Year

MONTREAL – Honduran forward Romell Quioto was named Montreal Impact MVP for the 2020 season, winning the Giuseppe-Saputo Trophy, the team has announced Friday, while Luis Binks was named Defensive Player of the Year for the club.

“I think there’s no surprise in these choices for the club’s individual honours in 2020,” declared Montreal Impact sporting director Olivier Renard. “I want to congratulate these two players, who have brought a lot to the group, and have achieved great things during the season. I hope they’ll be able to contribute as much, and even more in the future, to help this team perform and achieve its objectives.”

The Honduran international was the Impact’s best goal scorer and passer for the 2020 regular season, tallying 8 goals, including 2 game-winning goals, and 6 assists in 19 games, of which he started 17, cumulating 1,483 minutes of play. His 8 goals were a personal best for him in MLS. He also scored one goal during the MLS Cup playoffs, on November 20, against the New England Revolution. He played the full 90 minutes in that game.

Quioto was also on the shortlist for the league’s MVP title.

Quioto was acquired by the Montreal Impact on November 20, 2019, from the Houston Dynamo, in return for Argentine centre back Victor Cabrera and $100,000 in GAM.

Binks also honoured

British centre back Luis Binks has played 21 regular season matches, including 20 starts, with the Impact, for a total of 1,762 minutes. Binks also started one game in the MLS Cup playoffs, playing the full 90 minutes.

He was among the nominees for MLS Defender of the Year and Best Young Player awards, and was 11th on the league’s best 22 under 22 list.

Binks was acquired on February 18, 2020, from English side Tottenham Hotspur FC.

Giuseppe-Saputo Trophy winners (in MLS):

2020 : Romell Quioto
2019 : Orji Okwonkwo
2018 : Ignacio Piatti
2017 : Ignacio Piatti
2016 : Ignacio Piatti
2015 : Ignacio Piatti
2014 : Andrés Romero
2013 : Marco Di Vaio
2012 : Patrice Bernier

Defensive Player of the Year winners (in MLS):
2020 : Luis Binks
2019 : Bacary Sagna
2018 : Evan Bush
2017 : Daniel Lovitz
2016 : Hassoun Camara
2015 : Laurent Ciman