MONTREAL – Defender Kamal Miller has been invited to the 2022 MLS All-Star Game, which will be played against a Liga MX All-Star team on Wednesday, August 10 at 8:30pm EDT at Allianz Field in Minnesota.

Miller was one of two selections made by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

This will be the 25-year-old defender’s first MLS All-Star Game invitation. Miller has featured in 16 games this season for Montreal, including 15 as a starter, in 1,350 minutes of play. In addition to being a crucial part of Montreal’s backline, he has tallied one goal and three assists. He also leads the Club's defenders in total scoring attempts (13) and on target scoring attempts (6).

He was notably named MLS Player of the Week on May 2 after contributing a goal and an assist in a 2-1 win over Atlanta United FC.

At the international level, Miller helped Canada secure a ticket to the upcoming FIFA World Cup in Qatar in November after playing in nearly every qualifying match for his national team.

Of the 26 MLS players selected for the 2022 MLS All-Star Game, the breakdown was as follows:

  • 12 players were determined by a vote of MLS players, fans, and media. Each of the three voting groups represents one-third of the combined vote.
  • 12 players were selected by MLS All-Star head coach Adrian Heath of the host team Minnesota United FC.
  • Two players were selected by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

The match will be broadcast live on TVA Sports and TSN in Canada. The game will also be broadcast on ESPN and Univision in the United States, on ESPN in Mexico and Latin America, and in more than 190 countries around the world.


Goalkeepers: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Dayne St. Clair (Minnesota United FC)

Defenders: Julián Araujo (LA Galaxy), Alexander Callens (New York City FC), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Kamal Miller (CF Montréal), Diego Palacios (LAFC), Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union), De Andre Yedlin (Inter Miami CF), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders: Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati), Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC), Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC), Darlington Nagbe (Columbus Crew), Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United FC), Ilie Sanchez (LAFC)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (FC Dallas), Valentín Castellanos (New York City FC), Jesús David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Taxiarchis Fountas (D.C. United), Javier Hernández (LA Galaxy), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Raúl Ruidíaz (Seattle Sounders FC), Carlos Vela (LAFC)